Thu. May 19th, 2022

Executive Director of IEA, Mrs Jean Adukwei Mensa nominated by President Akufo-Addo as new EC Chair

The Executive Director of the Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA), Mrs Jean Adukwei Mensa has been nominated by the President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, for considered for the position of Chairperson of the Electoral Commission.

A press release issued on Monday 23 July, 2018 and signed by the Chief of Staff, Akosua Frema Osei-Opare, also named Mr. Samuel Tettey, the Director of Elections at the Electoral Commission and Dr. Eric Asare Bossman, Head of Political Science Department of the University of Ghana as the two who are being considered for appointment as deputy chairpersons.

Miss Adwoa Asuama Abrefa, a corporate legal practitioner, was also named to be considered for appointment as a member of the commission.

The statement explained that a letter which bore the date, Thursday, July 19, 2018 sought the advice of the Council of State, according to Article 70(2) of the Constitution.

The nominations follow the removal of the former Chairperson of the EC, Mrs. Charlotte Osei and her two deputies, Mr. Amadu Sulley and Mrs Georgina Opoku Amankwaa by the President Nana Akufo-Addo.

The removal was after a committee established to investigate petitions sent to the Chief Justice Sophia Akuffo, against them recommended that they should be removed.

The position of Mrs. Pauline Adobea Dadzawa, a Member of the Commission, who retired on Monday, April 30, 2018 also required the appointment of a new person to fill the vacancy in the Commission.

By Emilia Enyonam Kuleke/